International Public Affair

The world came together after this year’s Nobel Peace Prize announcements and here’s why…

Written by newsbreaklive

Sexual violence has been used as a weapon in the wars and conflicts all around the world since centuries. All these mishaps, lead to innumerable casualties and even fatalities of women bearing all the trauma caused by it.

On Friday, a Congolese doctor Denis Mukwege (63) and Yazidi campaigner Nadia Murad (25) won the 2018 Nobel Peace Prize for their relentless work in fighting sexual violence in conflicts around the world. Nobel committee chairwoman Berit Reiss-Andersen said, “The pair won the award for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict,” while unveiling the winners in Oslo, an announcement which won hearts immediately and got appreciated all across the globe.

Mukwege, also known as “Doctor Miracle”, has been helping women recover from the violence and trauma of sexual abuse and rape in war-waged eastern Democratic Republic of Congo since the past two decades. He has treated tens of thousands of victims at Panzi hospital, in South Kivu.

Alongside Mukwege, the committee honored Murad, a 25-year-old Iraqi woman from the Yazidi community who in 2014 was kidnapped by Islamic State militants. She endured three months as a sex slave before managing to escape. She was one of thousands of Yazidi women who were abducted, raped and brutalized by jihadists after forcefully converting them to Islam during their assault on the Kurdish-speaking minority. She has been fighting for the similar war affected sexual victims ever since. More power to women for calling out the perpetrators of these kind of heinous crimes.

UN rights chief Michelle Bachelet said it was “hard to imagine two more worthy winners”, describing the prize as “richly-deserved recognition of two extraordinarily brave, persistent and effective campaigners. We salute you, we admire you beyond words. You have fought for the pain women have suffered through sexual abuse to be recognised and confronted, and for their dignity to be restored,” she said. Speculations are, as #MeToo marks its first anniversary following allegations of sexual abuse, rape and harassment have toppled dozens of powerful men everywhere, it instigated this decision regarding the recipients of this award.

Mukwege and Murad will receive the prize out of 216 individuals and 115 organizations’ nominations, in Oslo on December 10, the death anniversary of Alfred Nobel, a Swedish philanthropist and scientist who died in 1896.

About the author


Leave a Comment

4 − three =